Getting Race Ready

I’ve got 19-days until the half marathon, 47-days until the Sebring Races, and 97-days until graduation. I’m so excited but also nervous!

This past weekend I had a revelation in an exercise class. I went home for a friends wedding and went to a spin class at my hometown gym. Inside the spin room the walls are painted like a cartoon from the race track. In this picture you can see the “Sebring International Raceway” airbrushed in the back ground.race ready 5

During the hour-long spin class I stared at the wall and looked down the ‘road.’ I thought about my goals, this semester, and all the coming events. I then realized that there are only four more months until I reach the finish line… Graduation from the University of Florida!

I’m so grateful to be a Gator, to be running a half-marathon next month, and to be the 2013 Miss 12 Hours of Sebring. It’s only a matter of time until I get to experience these events, but until then I will train!

This Bible verse is my motivation to stay focused on my goals.

“The Need for Self-Discipline”

24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. 25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. 26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air. 27 No, I strike a blow to my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 New International Version (NIV)

Race Ready on a bike!Gotta Run!

About Ricki Albritton

"For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you." Jeremiah 29:11
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Race Ready

  1. Pingback: And Then There Were More… | enter tain ment 220

  2. Pingback: Race to Graduate | A Journey to Journalism

Leave a comment